Hazel's Writing

Hazel's debut novel, ELLIE AND THE HARP MAKER, is published in several countries around the world. The UK and US publishers are Transworld and Berkley, both part of the wonderful Penguin Random House group. 

The books is, not surprisingly, inspired by music and Exmoor. 

Her second book, inspired by PENGUINS, is just out!

Listen to Hazel discussing AWAY WITH THE PENGUINS with Lionel Ward of Brendon Books on 19.03.20 here:

AWAY WITH THE PENGUINS interview at BrenHazel & Lionel
00:00 / 10:45

Photo taken at Living Coasts in Torquay with Yoyo the penguin (copyright Living Coasts)

ELLIE AND THE HARP MAKER

THE BLURB:

 

MEET ELLIE. She’s perfectly happy with her home and her husband and her quiet life. Happy enough, anyway. Which is why she’s so surprised to find herself drawn to an extraordinary stranger who gives her a gift – and a fresh perspective.

MEET DAN. He thinks that all he needs is the time and space to carry on making harps in his isolated barn on the moor. But the last thing he expects is for Ellie to whirl into his life, bringing a string of surprises to his ordered existence.

Sometimes it takes a chance encounter to discover what your life can be . . .

This heart-warming, funny and quirky love story

features . . .

86 plums

69 sandwiches

27 birch trees

a 17-step staircase


a pair of cherry-coloured socks

and a pheasant named Phineas 

“Ellie and the Harpmaker is uplifting….fresh and sweet, rejuvenated by a set of unusual characters, the raw beauty of England and the musicality of Prior’s prose. … Prior’s lyricism feels like a warm song.”

~ The Washington Post

 

“How I loved this book! An uncommonly lovely story told with elegance, insight, and so much heart. Hazel Prior's brilliant debut will delight."

~Kristan Higgins, New York Times bestselling author of Good Luck With That.

 

"Wow, what a love story. Ellie and The Harp Maker is uplifting and full of heart, and I couldn't put it down! Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine."

~Jo Thomas, author of Late Summer in the Vineyard.

 

"Hazel Prior’s writing is a lyrical delight.” 

~Phaedra Patrick, international bestselling author of The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper, and The Library of Lost and Found.

"Ellie and the Harp Maker is a lyrical, almost fairytale-like novel, as resonant and mysterious as a Celtic harp..."

~Juliet Blackwell, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Carousel of Provence

 

“A wonderful, genuine, heart-warming, funny and beautifully written book. If you love Kate Atkinson, Jojo Moyes or Gail Honeyman you will fall in love with Ellie and The Harp Maker."

~Rebecca Tinnelly, author of Never Go There and Don't say a Word.

 

"A melodious and heartwarming debut about love, friendship, and a secret that could change everything. This one is special.”

~Emily Liebert, USA Today bestselling author of Some Women and Pretty Revenge

Buy ELLIE AND THE HARP MAKER here (UK) and here (US)

Hazel's second novel is out in the UK with the title: 

AWAY WITH THE PENGUINS and will be out in the US in June with the title: 

HOW THE PENGUINS SAVED VERONICA. 

The book can be ordered in the UK here and in the US here

THE BLURB:

Veronica McCreedy lives in a mansion by the sea. She loves a nice cup of Darjeeling tea, perhaps with a ginger thin on the side. She enjoys watching a good wildlife documentary. She is never seen without her ruby-red lipstick. Although these days Veronica is rarely seen by anyone because at eighty-five her days are spent mostly at home, alone.

She can be found collecting litter from the beach (‘People who litter the countryside should be shot’), trying to locate her glasses (‘someone must have moved them’), and shouting instructions to her assistant, Eileen (‘Eileen, door!’).

 

Veronica doesn't have family or friends nearby. Not that she knows about, anyway... And she has no idea where she's going to leave her considerable wealth when she dies.  

 

But today... today Veronica is going to make a decision that will change all of this...

 

A warm, witty, inspiring story of late-life discovery which asks the powerful question: Is it ever too late to change our world?

"I love this gorgeous book. Unflinching, stubborn, funny and moving, Veronica is an unlikely heroine who will sneak in and capture your heart"

~ Trisha Ashley, Sunday Times bestselling author

 

"A glorious, life-affirming story. I read it in a day."

~ Clare Mackintosh, Sunday Times bestselling author

“A warm and witty journey of self-discovery. Prior proves that it’s never too late to become the person you were meant to be. But it might require a trip to Antarctica. And penguins.”

~ Wendy Wax, USA Today bestselling author

 

"A beautiful expedition into Antarctica, but more importantly, the human heart. Hazel Prior has written a sweet and timely story about how one cranky old woman is no match for a tiny, adorable penguin chick."

~ Brooke Fossey, author

Teaching Writing and Talks

 

Hazel gives workshops full of practical tips for budding writers.

She is also becoming known for her quirky talks with harp accompaniment. Sometimes she might even be persuaded to sing her song in praise of books: 'BOOKS ARE COOL!'

Most of Hazel's tweets are about writing. To follow her on Twitter, please click here.

You can also follow her on Goodreads here

  • Twitter Social Icon

 hazeltheharpist.co.uk